jump to navigation

Won’t Be Me March 18, 2011

Posted by CapitalSpirit in Uncategorized.
trackback

The Caps are taking nominations for the Jerseys Off Our Backs event, and one of the two categories is Biggest Fan. I can tell you right now that the winner is not going to be me, and that’s the way it is.

I’m sure there are some–perhaps many–who would think that I’d be all over the whole self-nomination thing, for whatever reason. Allow me to disabuse you all of that notion right now. I am not going to nominate myself for Biggest Fan, because I think it’s a recognition best offered by my fellow fans, and not me.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: I’m just trying to be the best Capitals fan that I, personally, can be. Yes, I’ve got a quirky way of cheering on the team: I’ve led an unusual life, and that makes me an unusual fan.

But I don’t think that being one of the most unusual fans ipso facto makes me one of the biggest fans. You can believe that or not, and I know there could be many who think “not.” But all I have ever tried to do, with the outfit, the lights, this blog, has been to take what makes me me, and use that to cheer on the Caps. (And, okay, maybe ask for a little bit of Divine intervention for them every once in a while.)

Don’t get me wrong. I’d be honored to be nominated; and I’d be positively touched if I won. But that’s not for me to decide. I believe that this is an honor that’s best bestowed by other fans, and not one I should actively seek out for myself. I’m going to leave this up to my fellow fans, even though I know by doing that…won’t be me.

And that’s it. That is all I’m going to say on this matter.–CS

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

