jump to navigation

2010-2011 Capitals Predictions: Part I September 7, 2010

Posted by CapitalSpirit in Uncategorized.
trackback

The first position in a Celtic Cross reading–or, in this case, a Celtic Cover–is at the center of the cross, and I refer to it as the “Basis” card. Essentially, what this position is all about is the general atmosphere surrounding the question. It’s kind of a “Why are you asking?” position–a good reader can sometimes take one look at this position and tell right away whether this question is being asked out of love, fear, uncertainty, curiosity, boredom, confidence, yadda-yadda-yadda. Since I’m the one who’s asking, this is probably more a reflection on what I’m bringing to the reading–at least, that’s the only way I can explain the two cards I see in this position. They are the 10 OF CHALICES and the 4 OF PENTACLES REVERSED.

The 10 of Chalices is sometimes referred to as the “happily ever after” card, because that’s usually how it comes across: think Damiel finding Marion at the end of “Wings of Desire” and you’re in the right ZIP code. (And if you don’t get the reference, you need to see the movie. Really.) It’s not so much an “endings” card so much as it is a card of a happy new re-beginning. 10 is the number that symbolizes rebirth, and Chalices represent water and emotions, so you can also think of this card as “emotional rebirth” as well.

The 4 of Pentacles reversed generally means that you don’t quite have everything you need. 4 generally refers to stability, Pentacles refer to material concerns, and a reversal generally means, “Well, not exactly.” So while this doesn’t quite mean instability–that is, in the tumult and disorder sense–it is, as I read it here, indicative of some material lack. It’s not instability, or outright difficulty–that would be more like the 5 of Pentacles straight-up–it’s more of “uncertainty.”

So, why do I think the cards are talking about me here? Well, for one thing, I’m ecstatic that the new season is almost here, so that I can finally lay the ghosts of last season to rest. 10 of Chalices, happiness, emotional rebirth…make sense? Meanwhile, I’m starting a new job, which isn’t (yet) paying me what I was making at my old one. I’ll get there eventually, I’m sure of that, and perhaps even better. But I know I’m going to have to keep a keen eye on my material state for the next few months.

And for the life of me, I don’t think I can believe that the team as a whole is coming into this season with 10 of Chalices energy. Happily Ever After last season sure as heck wasn’t. Emotional rebirth? There might ultimately be something to that: this deck can sometimes be very subtle, and I’m not perfect at reading it. The players have no doubt had a little extra time this summer to contemplate what went wrong, and lay their own ghosts to rest, so perhaps that 10 of Chalices isn’t quite so out of place after all. And I can certainly see 4 of Pentacles reversed energies in play: some material uncertainty does seem to be present, as there do seem to be a few question marks on the blue line and in the paint.

Ultimately, as can happen with some angel messages, not being certain of the answer is, in this case, a better answer than a clear-cut one. Are these two cards for me? The team? Both? I’ll have to think about these two cards carefully today, and consider how they relate to what else is going on elsewhere in the spread.

Part II tomorrow. Here’s the link.

But wait! I missed the Prologue! (Back)

Comments»

1. IRockTheRed - September 9, 2010

What deck are you using?

CapitalSpirit - September 9, 2010

Mentioned this in the Prologue, which I encourage you to check out. It’s Tarot of the Angels by Lo Scarabeo, published by Llewellyn. This exact deck is the one you see on my right at Caps games, in that blue pouch with the angel on it. So it does know what the Caps’ energy feels like.

IRockTheRed - September 17, 2010

It’s not a deck I’m real familiar with, though I have seen it. I usually use the Robin Wood deck, myself.


Leave a Reply

