jump to navigation

What Rock Am I Hiding Under? April 4, 2010

Posted by CapitalSpirit in Uncategorized.
trackback

For the one or two of you who might have been curious…

I’ve had some personal matters to tend to recently–nothing bad, just un-put-off-able–so I’ve been sidelined from the blogosphere at exactly the wrong time. For that matter, I haven’t been on Facebook in a while, and I’ve only been able to do Twitter updates from my phone. I’m busier than I’d like to be, but such is a stretch run.

Meanwhile, I have an offline project, Caps-related, which I’d like to complete before next Sunday’s game. Two home games and a potential viewing party in the interim are going to complicate that effort. And because it involves writing a lot of stuff out longhand, I can only do so much before my wrist demands a break.

So if you don’t see much of me online in the next couple of days, that’s why–lots of stuff on my plate that is eating up my time like Pac-Man ate up dots back in the day. Ah, the things we do for love…

For those of you on President’s Trophy watch, the Caps’ magic number is down to 1, against San Jose. For the Sharks to win it, they’d have to run the table and hope the Caps lose every game this coming week, with all of the losses in regulation. Three of those four are at the Phone Booth, where the Caps have been very, very hard to beat this year. Meanwhile, would somebody remind me when Jose Theodore’s last regulation loss was? So barring both a San Jose miracle AND a Washington collapse, the Caps will be skating the President’s Trophy at some point in the next seven days.

And I do hope that they will indeed skate it–it would be the first President’s Trophy win in team history, so I’d like to see the Caps spare no celebration on this one. The Stanley Cup it’s not, I know. But let’s wait until we’ve won it several years running before we give its celebration short shrift. Trophy celebrations, banner raisings, and suchlike aren’t just a matter of organizational chest-pounding: they’re a display of gratitude for all of the efforts and blessings that they recall. There are a lot of teams that would love to have anything at all to celebrate this year, so let’s be grateful for what we’ve won, and honor and celebrate it accordingly.

Now, then…back to my writing table…

CAPITAL SPIRIT
IT’S ALMOST TIME

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

