jump to navigation

Summertime Distractions: VNV Nation, and Others June 8, 2009

Posted by CapitalSpirit in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’m probably going to be writing multiple posts this summer about VNV Nation, an electronica group that isn’t afraid to get INCREDIBLY deep with their lyrics. I listen to these guys A LOT–I probably have “Genesis” memorized nearly note for note as much as I’ve listened to it–and I’m thinking very strongly about seeing their live show at the 9:30 Club next month, even though I’m normally not a club-goer. But after hearing the concert tracks on Reformation 01, I’m thinking twice–but that’s another post for another day.

For now, I’m just counting the days–fifteen of them as of today–until their new album comes out. It’s called “Of Faith, Power, and Glory,” and if it’s anything like their last album, “Judgement,” it’s going to be spectacular.

I must confess to not being a total fan of the group: the earliest album of theirs which I own is “Futureperfect.” (A MUST-OWN album, by the way. Go buy it. Immediately.) And if Ronan Harris–VNV’s everything-but-the-drums guy–is going to take a negative line on faith in general, there will be plenty for me to dispute in a couple of weeks. As is, I’m just excited to be a little over two weeks from some new VNV material. Yes, and I own Reformation 01–hey, they’re spoiling us this summer, I guess.

Would that Afro Celt Sound System would get back together for Volume 6–dream on, I guess. And Karl Jenkins is evidently done with Adiemus, otherwise we’d have had a new album sometime in the last, I don’t know, half-decade. And why the heck does Amazon want $170 (!!) for a 3-CD edition of Tubular Bells? I know box sets are collectors’ items and all that, but I could buy the first four seasons of Touched by an Angel for THAT kind of coin.

Also on my summer list of wanna-do’s: Spend some time with my brother and his family; finish Shadow of the Colossus (the electric eel is currently driving me nuts); finish Russian 1 on Rosetta Stone; MAYBE go up to Atlantic City; see some touristy stuff here in DC (you folks have no IDEA how reclusive I can get sometimes); get back in action with Stars-n-Bars Poker (no excuses here–they play just up the street from me, two nights a week); and perhaps, if the weather’s too bad for any of that, try to become less of a stranger to my guild on Reel Deal Vegas. PERHAPS I can make it to Level 50 by Opening Night in October.

Nor does that exclude keeping things going on my blog and staying current with the Capitals’ offseason, and any activities associated therewith.

I have no excuses for being bored this summer. I might not be on here every day to blog about it all, but I’m definitely going to try to live a bit–something, I have to admit, that I haven’t exactly been giving myself permission to do ever since Dad died. And I’ve been getting a lot of very strong encouragement from several different angels to get over my fear and get out of the house. And on one level, I know I should. But on another level, I’m a creature of habit, and I like the comfort of a familiar routine. Nevertheless, there’s not much difference between a groove and a rut. I sometimes have to remind myself that it’s really OK to live a little.

Which brings me full-circle to VNV Nation, and the song “Fearless.” (Yup, it’s on “Futureperfect.”) Even though the refrain is, “I’m not alone, I’m not afraid, I’m not unhappy,” the general sense from the song as a whole isn’t as a statement of fact, but merely a verbal attempt at self-convincing. And when the singer screams, “I am not afraid!,” it doesn’t seem–to me–that he’s screaming from strength, but rather, that he’s desperately trying to convince himself that he’s not afraid–when, in truth, he’s scared to death.

But that really IS a whole other discussion, and there’s plenty of summer for that. And two hours crunching words is enough for one night.

CAPITAL SPIRIT
VICTORY NOT VENGEANCE

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

