jump to navigation

No, I’m Not Taking Off June 4, 2009

Posted by CapitalSpirit in Uncategorized.
trackback

I’m re-tooling a bit to prepare for what I hope will be a new feature come next season.

This past spring, I was trying–with some success–to maintain a Magic Numbers table for the entire NHL. I was doing OK for a while…but late in the season, I ended up needing to find a lot of head-to-head tie breaks. I couldn’t find a central repository for head-to-head matchups, and I ended up having to manually look up the head-to-head results for almost every team, every night–especially in the West, where a lot of the teams were very closely matched.

Sooner or later, every team has to face every other team in the standings for a clinching or an elimination. So head-to-head data is something I’ll need at my fingertips if I’m going to try to do magic numbers league-wide again next year. And you know what they say about “if you want something done right…”

I believe I’ve finally figured out the densely written head-to-head rule–or maybe I’m just now becoming less dense myself–so I can now go forward with that project. Over the offseason, I’m going to be fiddling around behind the scenes with some table designs, and going over all 1,230 games from last year to see how to make it all fit together. I’m also going to put Magic Numbers back up at the start of the season, so that I’m not crunching numbers after Christmas like a madman in order to get the whole show online and live by New Year’s Day. A few minutes every day is better than an entire week of nonstop number-crunching.

I do, admittedly, have other non-hockey projects on my plate this summer, and I intend to pursue those now that there’s not much action left on the frozen pond (the balance of the Cup Finals notwithstanding, of course). I will update as and when I have something I think is worth my time to write and your time to read. I’m not an expert on hot-stove matters, and I’m not going to pretend to be one, so what I will probably end up writing will be a bit more Spirit and a bit less Capital.

As is, Game 4 is tonight, and hey, I gotta root against the Penguins. I don’t much like the Wings, either, but the idea of the Penguins winning the Cup before the Caps do is simply anathema to me. So let’s go Red Wings!!

Hope you’re all enjoying the Stanley Cup Finals, and I wish you all a safe, happy, and swift offseason.

CAPITAL SPIRIT
ROOTING FOR THE RED WINGS FOR NOW

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

