jump to navigation

Cat, Meet Hot Tin Roof February 25, 2009

Posted by CapitalSpirit in Uncategorized.
trackback

The past several days have been absolutely bonkers for me, and I think a few explanations are owing.

Sunday was all Caps, all day–up early, get dressed, Phone Booth at 11:30, thrilling Caps win, spend rest of day celebrating. Good times.

Monday, I was a nervous wreck all day–I was absolutely petrified waiting for 9:30 PM and my segment on Red Line Monday. Fortunately, the finished segment came out better than I ever would have hoped. They did such a bang-up job with it that I came about this close to actually liking myself. More on that further down, but for now, here is the finished segment. I’m actually impressed that I didn’t make a complete and total fool of myself.

Tuesday was nasty-gram day, as a lot of you have seen, and some have responded to (and thanks to all of you who offered encouragement.) After getting home late and setting a personal record for changing into my gear–I was in and out of my apartment in under fifteen minutes, I think–I got to scamper downtown and watch in utter chagrin as the Caps gave away the game, 4-2. A lot of people saw me on the concourse and congratulated me on a segment well-done, and that was appreciated. But seeing the Caps give up three late ones to, of all teams, the Flyers, was heartbreaking. On balance, it was a terrible, awful, no-good, very bad day.

Today was a crazy one at the office, but nobody’s going to care too much about that (not that I can discuss it if anyone actually did.) The encouragement you guys gave me was much-needed, and I appreciated it.

Did I overreact? Probably, but there was more going on than I wrote about yesterday.

I watched Ted’s turn on My Life 365 over the weekend, and hearing him talk about the plane crash he was in struck a very big chord.

I was confronted with my own mortality at the ripe old age of 11. I was with my Boy Scout troop, cross-country skiing near the inter-German border. I got lost, and I was sure I was going to freeze to death in the middle of nowhere. Unlike Ted, I made no grand bargain with God. I asked Him how badly it hurt to freeze to death, and could he please make an exception for an 11-year-old?

Long story short, I obviously got rescued (duh). But it took me about a full decade to finally realize that my rescuer hadn’t been human. I’m pretty sure I know exactly which angel it was, and I know he doesn’t want to get name-dropped here.

But that’s the sort of thing you can’t just know, and then ignore. It changes you. Forget Why was I put on this earth–my life-question right now is, Why was I given that second chance? More importantly, Am I really doing enough with it? I don’t want to be disappointing God Himself, you know?

Anyway, after seeing Ted on My Life 365, I started ruminating on some of the Really Big Questions. Will I really leave the world a better place than I found it? Will anyone’s life have been better for knowing me? Have I really given anything important to anything worthwhile?

One of the biggest problems I have is that nothing I ever do is good enough to please me. I’m never satisfied with anything I do. I am my own harshest critic, and my standards for myself are demanding–perhaps, I concede, too much so.

So, when I got trolled yesterday, I was right in the middle of struggling with a lot of Really Big Questions. I think it’s fair to say that I wasn’t exactly at my mental and spiritual best, and I let an easy shot get by–something Jose Theodore would be able to relate to later that night, I’m sure.

But that’s the sort of thing you have to forget. Tomorrow is another game (in more ways than one). What’s important is not the one game you lose–it’s the losing streak you stave off by doing a better job next time.

As usual, I’ll be at the Phone Booth tomorrow night. If you see me, a few words of encouragement would be very much appreciated. It’s been a crazy week, and it’s not even Thursday yet.

CAPITAL SPIRIT
OLDER AND WISER

Comments»

1. jf1 - February 25, 2009

You rock it, you are you…best gift you can give your self and every other reason for still being on the planet. Eveytime you raise your lights in the VC, someone notices, something as simple as passing happiness along , is a gift.
I smile and say hi to you every game, you have no clue who I am, I notice that too. You should be proud. The world is not as awfull as you sometimes seem to be treated.

Just another Ovie Jersey who passes you and smiles at every game.
Thanks for sharing your love of the CAPS.

CapitalSpirit - February 25, 2009

You’re making me cry, and I don’t mind admitting it for all the world to see. 😀

I wish I could say something deep and meaningful, but I’m having trouble coming up with something that doesn’t sound trite. Thank you. I hope that will suffice.

I don’t think we’ve been properly introduced in person, but I could be wrong–names and faces admittedly kill me, particularly in an 18,000-plus seat arena with so many similarly-clad fans. There’s only one of me to remember, last time I checked, but thousands of fellow Caps fans for me to keep straight, so I hope you’ll forgive me for that.

If you see me at the Thrashers game tomorrow night, flag me down and slap me silly until I remember you for good. ;)–CS

2. jf1 - February 28, 2009

I will try to find you March 1, we have never “met” I just usually high five you after the game! Say something stupid about the CAPS and the jump on the express down from the 400’s! (So you have not forgotten, we have never met.)
Rock the RED CAPE! and lets have back to back wins this weekend!
Happiness is a gift pass it on!


Leave a Reply

