jump to navigation

Monthly Predictions: December 2008 December 1, 2008

Posted by CapitalSpirit in Uncategorized.
trackback

Well, it’s that time again, and I want to get this over and done with before tomorrow night’s game against the Panthers. So here goes–my look at the month of December. Recap and evaluation of November is something I’ll do a bit later this week, as time permits. But with two Caps games in the next three nights, I am going to be otherwise engaged for a while.

Deck: Tarot of the Angels (Scarabeo)
Spread: Celtic Cross
Question: “How will the Capitals do in the month of December?”

SHUFFLE: This doesn’t happen often. As I was shuffling the cards, one of them jumped out. That doesn’t happen often, and when it does, you’re supposed to treat that as significant. The jump-out was the KNAVE OF PENTACLES REVERSED. Interesting. If it’s a player, they have two years or less of NHL experience. With all the minor-league call-ups on the roster as December opens, I really can’t pin this down to one player. But Pentacles are about Earth, and all things physical and material. This Knave is reversed, so he’s a knave’s Knave–someone whose Earth energy is out of whack. Think greedy, materialistic, or in hockey terms, too physical for their own good. Too much hitting, not enough passing, not playing the puck enough, are the impressions I’m getting. If this isn’t a player, then it may indicate a serious lack of basic material resources. That’s a very simplistic way of reading it given all the injuries we’re dealing with right now, but it is a possibility. I’m not sure where this fits in with the rest of the cards, but it is a jump-out, so I will read it and type it out for whatever it happens to be worth.

BASIS: QUEEN OF SWORDS. If this is a player, it’s one who has six to nine years of NHL experience, and who has a very mental dimension to his game. I do have a list of players by rank, and the only player off that list that jumps out at me at this point is Brent Johnson. In a way, that really is a good place to start: the goaltending seems to be the only centering force on the team right now, as the rest of the lineup is getting hurt right and left. If I’m reading this correctly, then there may be more pressure on Johnny than we perhaps realize as December commences. I’m getting the impression that Theodore may perhaps be unavailable for part of the month, and I’m going to put that out there for whatever it may be worth. The Queen of Swords can also represent mastery of the mental domain, but I don’t think that’s the right message here. My intuition is telling me that Brent Johnson is going to be, pardon the cliche, Johnny on the spot this month. As he goes, so may go the Caps: if I’m reading this in position correctly, his energy, positive OR NEGATIVE, will determine what goes on up front.

CROSSING: 10 OF CHALICES. Interesting. Normally, if I see the 10 of Chalices, particularly when reading for the Caps, it’s usually a very good sign. Readers who’ve seen this card come up before know that I refer to it as the “happily ever after” card. But it’s coming up as the Crossing card, and that means that it’s a mixed blessing. I want to be able to read it as “the road the Caps are on leads to victory this month.” But I can’t quite do that: the General Direction and Outcome cards aren’t very optimistic. So, how does that affect the 10 of Chalices as a Crossing? The optimistic read would be something like this: despite some so-so predictions for how things turn out, the Caps still make progress this month on their journey to happily-ever-after. The pessimistic read would be something like this: there will be a very strong energy of success and victory around the team, but it’s illusory, a house of cards, if you’ll pardon the expression. Getting too carried away with this success or that may end up causing trouble down the road. I reluctantly have to be pessimistic here. So my read on this position is this: the Caps can’t afford to let any one win–for wins they will have–get to their heads. They can’t believe they’re the team that just beat this good club by this good score, or they just might lost to that bad club by that bad score shortly thereafter. Follow the middle way.

DISTANT PAST: KNIGHT OF WANDS. I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that this is a reference to Alexander Semin. Sasha has helped the team get to where it is now, that much seems clear. Now, does this mean that he’s soon to return, and come charging out of the past to carry the team forward? Or does this mean that as of now, Semin is officially yesterday’s news? The card is face-up, so I’m going to be optimistic here. I won’t go so far as to say we’ll have him back on the ice by month’s end, but his influence will still be felt this month.

RECENT PAST: 7 OF WANDS. This is a visual read. The scene on the card is of a youth, working hard on ground that is dry and parched. Six of the wands are stuck in the hardpan, and the youth is still stubbornly working the ground with the seventh wand. Above him, an angel holds a shield of light reflecting the Light. Visually, the message seems to be one of working, and working, and working, and having nothing to show for it. November wasn’t a horrible month by any stretch, but we did have a couple of games in there which seemed to be very “oy vey, why?!” type of losses. Now, the good news is that that’s passed, and receding. However, that type of energy is still trying to hang around, even as it’s on the way out. So there may yet be a few “stubborn” energetic events left to go before we completely lay November’s ghosts to rest.

GENERAL DIRECTION: 6 OF SWORDS REVERSED. Hey, play nice! The 6 of Swords is one of the less unpleasant Swords cards, but reversed, it’s not that great. Upright, it’s about knowing where you’re going, and going there. Reversed, it speaks to indecision, or lack of knowledge. It’s kind of a “quo vadis?” kind of energy: where to? Now, bear in mind the numerical order here: 6 comes right after 5, of course. So what’s the 5 of Swords? Defeat. And from defeat, you realize the next step to take, and take it. That’s what would happen if the 6 of Swords were face-up. Reversed, you don’t quite know where you’re going. It’s like you’re driving from Washington to Baltimore on I-95, they suddenly close it for an emergency, your GPS system is on the blink, and you have no idea what road to use. That’s kind of what the 6 of Swords reversed is about: knowing where you came from, and knowing where you want to go, but not really knowing HOW to get there. And sometimes, even when you figure out a Plan B, you find you suddenly have to develop a Plan C, or Plan D. The quote I’m getting is, “The best-laid plans of mice and men go oft awry,” and I think that about sums it up. Expect the unexpected in December.

IMMEDIATE FUTURE: KNIGHT OF CHALICES. Well, we’ve gone from the Knight of fire–Wands–to the Knight of water–Chalices. I’m thinking this is Ovechkin: the experience level fits, and he is an emotional player. So if I’m reading this correctly, his cup may run over with blessings early in the month. I’m not guaranteeing that he’ll hang five goals on the Panthers tomorrow night, but he could perform above his average over the next few games. And Alex Ovechkin’s idea of “above average” is about where most people start thinking “superhuman.” I like it!

TEAM: 7 OF SWORDS. Not great, but not the 5, so I can work with that. The 7 of Swords speaks to instability. It’s not instability and certain defeat: to the contrary, the 7 of Swords says you can indeed succeed, despite opposition. But there are a couple of caveats to that. One, be cautious in the face of extreme adversity. And two, victory must come from MENTAL effort. In hockey terms, this means that you have to play smart: don’t take boneheaded penalties, have a purpose to your actions, and remember to win by matching your wits, not necessarily dropping your mitts. With the lack of consistency the Caps have shown–they seem to be two different teams depending on if they’re home or away–I find this particular card quite appropriate. Be smart; then be consistent; THEN can you be victorious.

OUTSIDE INFLUENCES: 6 OF WANDS. This just came up last month to represent the Caps, and now it’s turning up again to represent the outside influences. This seems to me to be an indication of tremendous fan support, and wonderful energies coming to the team from outside. Could it be that all the fans who are now packing Verizon Center–even though the season is still young–are already starting to believe? Granted, the Caps haven’t been that great on the road, but at home, they’ve been lights-out, leaving (so far) only one point on the table at home. I’m not a huge fan of the wave at hockey games, but I’ll take a high-energy crowd anytime. And with all due apologies to Fats Waller, “The red is rockin’, the fans are flockin’, We all scream to cheer our team, I mean this joint is jumpin’!” We, the fans, need to continue being a positive force in this position.

HOPES AND FEARS: XV, THE DEVIL (Element: Earth) The Devil is an Earth card, and that might seem counterintuitive at first glance. He’s burning in Hell, so shouldn’t he be a Fire card? No–fire represents spirit, and the Devil is a tempter. And what’s the best temptation? Why, material stuff, of course. Earthy stuff. Think of some famous “sold his soul” stories: The Devil and Daniel Webster, perhaps even Charlie Daniels’s song The Devil Went Down to Georgia. The Devil isn’t going to get very many Marlowian Fausts who would sell their souls for knowledge, so there goes Air. Water? Nope–that’s emotion, and a very hard sell indeed. So this a very Earth-y card, a very physical card. Why, do you ask, am I belaboring the point with this? Because The Devil (the card) can represent material fear. In this case, fear of lack of material, be that players, or be that physical health. Now, the card is face-up, so it doesn’t represent pure evil (which, if reversed, it would). What it represents here, as a Hopes and Fears card, is fears of impulse, temptation, and lack of material. Now, The Devil is no small fear, but if you put up any kind of fight, he’ll move on to softer targets. The key is to know you’re being tempted, know that’s what you’re scared of, see it, acknowledge it, and move past it.

OUTCOME: KNAVE OF WANDS REVERSED. Yuck. According to the list I have, Mike Green has only two years of experience, so that makes him a Knave. And of the players who are ranked as Knaves, his name was the only one that really jumped out at me and screamed, “Knave of Wands!” Might a bad month by Mike Green be the biggest factor in how the Capitals end up performing? I know I said back at Basis that Brent Johnson would be one to watch, and I’m going to have to add Mike Green to that list of players I’ll be keeping a spiritual eye on. The other possibility is that this card represents a spiritual beginning that gets off completely on the wrong foot. I’m not sure what that might be, but it is something I’ll mention for the record.

DISTRIBUTION (11 CARDS): 2 Earth, 3 Air, 2 Water, 4 Fire, Majors 1. A little long on spiritual energy, but not at the expense of any of the other elements. 3-3-3-2 would be “normal” for eleven cards, but this is close enough as to be unremarkable. What’s notable is the lack of Major Arcana cards: there’s only one of those out of 11 cards, and with 11 cards, a “normal” number of Majors would be 3. Five Court cards is also notable, but those are Minor Arcana, so they are free-will as well. So there’s not a lot of hard destiny here. This situation is almost completely subject to change, and what I see now can definitely be improved upon.

FINAL THOUGHTS. There’s nothing I can really point to here and say, “THIS IS BAD!! REALLY BAD!!” There are a couple of cards here of which I could say, “This is AWESOME!” But for the most part, the news here is fairly neutral. Now, overall, it is on the positive side of neutral, which means we may see even more success in December than we did in November. However, I do need to put out that this is all very open to changes, and the mixed-to-good news that I see here is not set in stone. The energies in play here are, for the most part, up to the players to work out. If the Caps work hard, play smart, and continue to receive positive support from the fans, this could be a December to remember. I’m not going to sit here and guarantee a great month, or even a good one. What I can say for certain is that the energies are in place for the Caps to tear up the pea patch this month. It’s up to the players to harness that.

See you tomorrow night at the Phone Booth.

CAPITAL SPIRIT
PRE-ORDERING HIS NEW YEAR’S DAY DISH OF CROW

Comments»

1. Matt Mueller - December 3, 2008

If you have healing powers, heal the team

2. CapitalSpirit - December 3, 2008

I’ll certainly try, as I’ve stated on another thread. I can’t guarantee miracles; I can’t promise anyone’s going to come back any sooner; and there will be no way for me to verify what I’m doing.

That said, I will be conducting distance healings for the Caps as a team. I can’t sit idly by any longer.

But let me make one thing clear, even if this may seem like I’m splitting hairs. I shy away from using the phrase “healing powers”, as that puts it on a completely different level than it should be. Technically, I don’t have any sort of “powers.” I work with higher frequencies, and my only role is to get the frequencies and the client connected–and then get the heck out of the way. The power is not my own: I’m just a vessel, a conduit, if you will. The more I try to influence this, the less effective it will be.

I don’t have “healing powers” any more than any other healing modality, from ancient tribal medicine to the bleeding edge of Western medicine, or anywhere in between. Strictly speaking, I myself am nothing. The “healing powers” in this, if such term must be used, are bigger than I am. I’m the PLACE where the healing occurs; I’m definitely not the SOURCE of where it occurs.

Throwing down the gauntlet, are we? šŸ˜‰

3. Matt Mueller - December 3, 2008

Also I have a question for you. During warm ups of the Caps-Habs game I saw you come down to watch. A verizon center usher was talking to you, it seemed as if you were explaining to him something and he was rather annoyed. What happened?

4. CapitalSpirit - December 3, 2008

Probably just a minor case of “move out of the way,” if that. It wasn’t anything memorable five days after the fact. I’m usually down at ice level for no more than five minutes, tops, and sometimes just three: long enough to see, be seen, say hi, and get moving again. I make a LOT of stops around the building before the game, and the start of warmups is just one out of many (even if it is the most visible).

5. Brian Walters - December 9, 2008

Dear Caps Spirit,

Been reading your blog for awhile and love it, its fascinating how you in most cases are right. Quick question though will you be taking part in speed dating on friday? I’m sure many single ladies who are caps fans would like to be shown the light.

CapitalSpirit - December 9, 2008

Thinking about it, but not that seriously. They’d take one look at my outfit and spend the whole three minutes laughing at me, I think.

I will be honest, perhaps to a fault: I’m a project, and I’m not afraid to admit it. I’ve said before on this blog that I’m really not the romantic type, and that hasn’t changed that much.

I’ll give it some more thought over the next day or two, but honestly, as it stands right now, I’m leaning against doing the whole “singles night” thing. And by the time I put my name down, it’ll be booked solid already.

So I’m only partially jesting when I say that for me to be there Friday night would take an act of divine intervention.–CS

6. Brian Walters - December 10, 2008

Have you ever considered not wearing the cloak until after speed dating?


Leave a Reply

