jump to navigation

That’s Not What I Expected September 11, 2008

Posted by CapitalSpirit in Uncategorized.
trackback

And calling that an understatement is itself an understatement.

When I wrote up last night’s marathon entry, I thoroughly expected I’d get, at best, maybe five dozen hits on it, total, over a couple of days, at which point, it would recede, be quickly forgotten, and that would be that. I’d have a statement on record explaining my background, and those who actually cared enough to look for it would see it, and perhaps they’d understand more of who I am and why I write what I write. I didn’t tag it, and I didn’t send anyone the link. You’d have to care to find it. As of about 9:30 or so this morning, all was going as expected: 18 hits total for the entire blog, and maybe 6 or 7 for last night’s post.

Around 10:15 or so, I looked at my stats again, and noticed I was getting inbound traffic from Ted’s Take. I remember saying, out loud, in stunned disbelief, “He did NOT…!”

He did SO!

So, okay, maybe it IS more than just good business sense. Ted has my email address, and he could just as easily have commented here, as well. But giving me such a very public word of encouragement on his page–link and all–was so far above and beyond the call of duty that he’s pretty much silenced all my self-doubts on this matter. That speaks volumes about him, and the entire Capitals organization.

Mr. Leonsis: I’d be supremely honored to accept your invitation. I will likely be as skittish as a third-class petty officer in a roomful of four-star admirals, but a gracious gesture of this magnitude is one I cannot–and shall not–turn down. You are entirely too kind, sir. You have given me a place to belong; more, you have given me, ever an outsider, perhaps the strongest sense of belonging that I have ever had in my life. Words fail; I hope a heartfelt “thank you” will suffice. More to follow under separate cover.

That’s not the end of the jaw-droppers, either.

Dan Steinberg, of DC Sports Bog, had me on today’s Top 5 list–at number 3. That was just ahead of Elijah Dukes and just behind ALEXANDER OVECHKIN (did I just dream that?!) Dan, thank you very much for that. It’s more than a bit surreal for me to be on the same Top 5 list as Alex Ovechkin. (Slow news day?) 😉 I’m honored by your kind mention, Dan. Thanks again.

Nor was that the end of the matter. As I was working on this entry, the comments were (by my standards, at least) flooding in from other fans with messages of encouragement. I’ll reply to those in the comments section on the original post.

One more: in less than 24 hours, that one post was read more than my entire blog was in the entire month of August. I’m saying that not to brag on myself: I’m saying that by way of thanks to you–all of you who have read my words, and offered your support, whether I’ve seen it or not. Sometimes, you have to face the Darkness to see a greater Light. For all of your encouragement, prayers, and well-wishes, I thank you all. God bless.

CAPITAL SPIRIT
HEALING

Comments»

1. Bill-DC - September 12, 2008

Cool Spirit! Enjoy your time in the owners box with Ted. He’s definitely a class act.


Leave a Reply

