jump to navigation

March Results March 31, 2008

Posted by CapitalSpirit in Uncategorized.
trackback

As promised, here’s a look back at what I predicted for March, what came true, and what didn’t.  Here is a link to the original post.

Card 1: Basis.  Ace of Chalices, Reversed.  I said that this signalled some raw emotions in the locker room as a result of all the deadline-day deals.  I can’t verify this one way or the other, so I can’t tell if this is a good read or a bad one.  Result: unverifiable.

Card 2: Crossing.  8 of Pentacles.  I mentioned that we might have trouble with the Bruins and Penguins, and that horrible double-whammy weekend early on was something I wish I’d been wrong about.  I said that despite that, incredible effort would bring progress.  I’ll take full credit for nailing that one: winning 5 out of 6 on the road to finish the month is absolutely progress.  Result: Good read.

Card 3: Distant Past, 3 of Pentacles.  I will make a direct quote here:  “March will not be an easy month.  That’s not to say the Caps will fall out of playoff contention; it’s only to say that they won’t be able to sleepwalk their way to a division title, which I think should be obvious with Carolina still in front of us.”  I daresay I got that spot-on, even if I do say so myself.  Result: good read.

Card 4: Recent Past, Knave of Chalices Reversed.  I said that this card represented a big, bad emotion, not a person, and that its influence would recede.  Well, from all I’ve been reading, this team is now in Believe mode (at least, that’s what’s finding its way into the press.)  While my predictions for April do show some hidden doubts, it seems that the team has, at least in public, vanquished the negative emotions that I took this card to represent at the time.  But I wouldn’t be able to confirm this short of talking with an insider, and I wouldn’t expect anyone with any say to confirm my suspicions.  Result: unverifiable.

Card 5: General Direction, 4 of Chalices.  I said that this meant that the team would be settling down emotionally, and going out and executing the way they already knew how to do.  The results make that look at least half-right, but I’m not going to claim any credit for this one.  Not a misread, but not exactly verifiable, either.  Result: unverifiable.

Card 6: Immediate Future, The Wheel, Reversed.  Bad luck early on?  Wish I’d gotten that one wrong, but someone actually commented that I’d gotten that one a little too right.  Boston?  Backstrom’s own-goal?  Bad luck was a factor early in March, that’s for sure.  Result: Good read.

Card 7: Querant, 4 of Swords reversed.  If you really want to get technical, the 4 of Swords is about a momentary rest, not death, and a reversal of it means, simply put, that nap time is over.  Be that as it may, I said that the monkey would be off the team’s back in March, and that despite a rocky February they’d still be in contention once March was over.  I’ll take credit for getting that one right.  Result: Good read.

Card 8: Outside Influences, 2 of Chalices.  I said that the fans were starting to come around and embrace this team, and it looks like that’s indeed what’s happening.  If tomorrow night against the Canes is a sellout, that would be no small achievement for this team, and doubly so given how the season started.  The love is definitely there: I can see it, I can hear it, and I can feel it at the recent home games.  Tomorrow night may be one of the most emotional games I’ve ever been in the building for, so I’m going to have to prepare myself spiritually for that.  The love is there.  Result: good read.

Card 9: Hopes and Fears, The Tower.  I said that that indicated that some of the players were still worried about a potential meltdown.  Yesterday, I got a lot of reversed court cards when I did the reading for April, which also tends to indicate doubt.  Any connection?  I can’t verify that either way, but it might be quite intriguing if that were indeed the case.  Result: unverifiable.

Card 10: Outcome, 5 of Swords, reversed.  What I said, in part: “Still, this does indicate success, if not outright victory.  That signals a winning record, I would suppose, but not winning enough to clinch the division by the end of the month.  If that’s indeed the case, the final 3 games at Verizon Center in early April will be for the whole enchilada.”  No applause, please, Caps faithful…just throw money.  😀  Kidding aside, I think this was a perfect read.  Result: Good read.

I also said, in my final thoughts, quote, “The outcome is one of general success, not outright victory, so that might indicate that this season will go down to the wire. ”  Which is exactly what ended up happening.

I’m not trying to toot my own horn here, but as far as the results are concerned, I think I got this one as right as I could.  I hope I’m right about what I said for April, that the Caps would probably make the playoffs. 

I’ll see you all tomorrow night at Verizon Center, on the lower level for once.  It’s going to be a wild one–even the weather looks like an adventure (they’re calling for showers and thunderstorms last I checked.)  That may actually have some influence on the subtle energies of the game.  It sounds crazy, but almost every book I’ve read on astral travel tells you not to try it in a thunderstorm, because thunderstorms can really wreck an astral journey.  Take it for whatever it’s worth, folks.

Our immediate future was represented by the Ace of Swords, so we should have enough subtle energies on our side tomorrow night to win.  Win we must; and, I believe, win we shall.

CAPITAL SPIRIT

GET YOUR RED ON!

Comments»

1. Aaron Wakling - March 31, 2008

Good Blog. I will continue reading it in the future. Nice layout too.

Aaron Wakling


Leave a Reply

